As well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the eyes of some, businesses are not only economic units generating wealth; rather, they should shoulder social responsibilities. I agree with this opinion as when doing so, businesses are indeed investing in their sustainable development. In the short term, shouldering social responsibilities, say social and environmental ones, could buy businesses opportunities to gain profit in turn. When fulfilling their tax obligations, businesses can improve their financial credit scores. This is because businesses can prove that their tax records are clean, thereby buying them opportunities to approach low-interest loans and raise funds more effectively. Thus, businesses can take this advantage of competitiveness over their rivals and gain more profits. Also adopting manufacturing practices that minimize environmental damage is financially beneficial for businesses. Accordingly, this strategy enables businesses to avoid huge environmental taxes and protects businesses from boycotting campaigns of environmental activists. In the long term, This strategy could bring businesses both sustainable profits and new customers. Taking social responsibility, say philanthropic activities, means an investment in expanding the future's market. An explanation for this argument is when helping impoverished people escape ingrained poverty and have a higher standard of living, businesses are creating potential customers in the future, and in turn, selling more products to these new generations of customers. Furthermore, this strategy helps businesses draw new customers. In fact, when taking responsibility, businesses could establish a picture of themselves as economic units not only generating wealth but also willing to accompany society in reaching common goals and solving challenges. This helps build trust and bonds between businesses and the community, and new customers will come later. In conclusion, although businesses are economic units generating wealth, They should shoulder social responsibilities because this is a sapient investment in their sustainable development.