Some people believe that visitors to other countries should follow local customs and behavior. Others disagree and think that the host country should welcome cultural differences. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people may see that tourists should abide by the traditions and customs of the country being visited, while others believe that the hosting country should accept and defend the personal freedom of all visitors. Personally, I agree with the second opinion to a great extent, as will be illustrated in the following paragraphs. On the one hand, it could be argued that tourists should respect the hosts’ traditions and not interfere with their beliefs and culture as long as they have decided to visit them. However, I do not agree with this notion as it is really hard to apply, particularly with great diversity in today’s open world. Imposing such restrictions may impact tourism – and subsequently the economy - as well as the general tolerance of diversity. For example: if I go to certain countries where the majority of people do not eat beef like India, then I have to restrict my diet. In such a case, I will think twice before making a decision to go, especially since a holiday means a lot to me in terms of enjoying my habits and my favourite dishes. On the other hand, the benefits of supporting personal freedom and other cultures are tremendous, as some people think including me. Firstly, this may influence the locals’ sense of acceptance and liberty. Secondly, it will nourish tourism and the economy more as can be seen in countries that proved an acceptance of diverse cultures. Nonetheless, it is highly important to mention that each visitor also has to take responsibility for their own security and well-being. Undoubtedly, if there is an extreme breach of the local normality that can expose them to any danger, they have absolutely to be cautious and mindful of others, in my opinion, at all times. In conclusion, limiting visitors’ behaviour or preferences can negatively affect tolerance and economic growth. Meanwhile, it is also essential for each person to view the whole picture of any community before visiting them, and to exercise courtesy as much as they can.