Some people believe that schools should teach foreign languages for primary school children. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Despite some drawbacks of this trend, there are obvious benefits as well. In this essay, I am going to outline the perceived disadvantages and advantages of teaching foreign languages to primary school children and explain why I feel it has far more significant advantages. On the one hand, children have less free time for physical activities if the schools teach foreign languages to primary school children. In Vietnam, children have to study a lot of things even at a very young age and they hardly have time for outdoor activities, therefore, adding a new subject will leave children with no time for physical exercise, which helps them develop physically. When I was a primary school student, I spent almost the whole time at home completing homework and after studying too much I just wanted to rest and didn't want to do anything else. Nevertheless, teaching foreign languages to primary school children is much more significant. Firstly, it is easier for primary school students to learn foreign languages. Many studies have shown that as people get older, it becomes more difficult to learn another language; so teaching foreign languages to students at an early age helps them learn those languages faster. Furthermore, there are more job opportunities when students are good at a foreign language. In Vietnam, currently, many companies require their employees to be able to communicate in a foreign language, especially English, because of the process of economic integration and the international environment. Not being able to use a foreign language will be a big disadvantage for children in the future. In conclusion, the benefits of teaching foreign languages to primary school children at schools are more significant than the downsides.