As global trade increases, many goods, including those we use on daily basis, are produced in other countries and have to be transported long distances. Do the benefits of this trend outweighs the drawbacks?

In the modern commercialised world, most commodities are manufactured in different parts of the world and transported across the globe to their final destinations. Although this trend has both advantages and disadvantages, in my opinion, it has more benefits for the global economy. Many products, including daily consumables are transported long distances for different reasons. Firstly, all goods cannot be produced in all parts of the world because the raw materials and the trained labour force are not available everywhere. For example, apples are grown only in temperate climates as it is an essential requirement for the growth of the plant. So that, apples grown in countries with temperate climates must be shipped to the other part of the world since there are no alternatives for this issue. This process is beneficial for both the producer and the consumer. The former party gets financial benefits while the latter party gets the opportunity to enjoy a product which is not grown on their soil. Similarly, importing items from countries with mass production are sometimes financially beneficial than attempting to manufacture them locally. Therefore, it is clearly evident that the long-distance transport of goods has various benefits. On the other hand, this trend also got some drawbacks. Firstly, all modern transport services depend on burning fossil fuels. So, environmental pollution and global warming are two important facts to be considered before deciding on these imports and exports. In addition, local producers may face losses because imports from countries with low labour costs are always cheaper than local products. Because of this, most supermarket chains rely on imported goods than local products. In conclusion, although there are both drawbacks and benefits in transporting products across the globe, I believe that this trend has more benefits for all parties. Authorities should focus their attention to make legislations to maximise benefits to both the consumer and the producer.