As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual wellbeing. What factors contribute to job satisfaction? How realistic is job satisfaction for all workers?

It is true that job satisfaction plays an important role in the well-being of individuals because most people spend the majority of their time on their careers. While whether a person is satisfied with his or her job can be influenced by a variety of reasons, it is really not realistic for employees to expect a totally perfect job. There are various factors that can pose an impact on the feelings of workers including but not limited to salary, sense of achievement, and the atmosphere of the workplace. For many people, the level of salary has a direct link with their job satisfaction due to the fact that they need to raise their family and live comfortably with their income. Besides salary, how much sense of achievement can be obtained also influent the motivation of staff. Moreover, an increasing number of people pay closer attention to the work environment, including the culture of their company and their relationship with their colleagues. For example, employees may feel upset or frustrated when they have a tense relationship with their superiors. Therefore, it is not realistic to expect a fully satisfying job for most workers in terms of the factors mentioned above, which are usually difficult to be controlled. Every person needs to face competition from colleagues and other competitors in the industry, which means a worker can not always be paid as they expected because the employer will compare them with others. At the same time, it is difficult to be in an ideal work atmosphere because people may work with various colleagues, and some of them may be with bad tempers or strange characteristics. In conclusion, many factors can have an effect on job satisfaction and it would be unrealistic to expect a position fully meet our expectations.