Government invest in the arts such as music and theatre is a waste of money. Government must invest this money in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

The question on where the Government should invest funds is debatable. Some believe that investing in entertainment is profitable however others suggest that these funds should rather be invested in public services. This essay will discuss why the Government should opt to invest money in public services. When a government chooses to invest in public services it aids a community in numerous ways, making life for it’s citizens easy to adapt to. For instance a research paper from the Francis George Institute quoted that after the government had finally decided to provide a number of buses (20) for The Volin Community, more children were able to attend classes on time. Furthermore, health is very vital for life thus when the government takes the initiative to invest in this sector it reduces the need of going abroad to seek better treatments and cuts costs. For example due to the high costs of medical expenses, because of health insurance available to each and every citizens of a country, people tend to spend less money for their hospital bills. An argument against the government investing in public services is because of how costly it can be for the government especially in remote areas where populations tend to be less in number. However, i would argue that regardless of how much it takes the government to develop it’s country it is their duty to make sure that people have access to basic necessities, to name a few: electricity and water. In conclusion, while i acknowledge how costly it is for the government to invest in areas with relatively low populations, I would argue that those investments not only better life for it’s people but also develop the country as a whole.