International tourism has brought enormous benefit to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment. Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages?

Around the world, the tourism industry is proving beneficial for different places by generating revenue,creating employment opportunities as well as providing new places for individual travellers to discover. However, there are some possible drawbacks of international tourism as it has a negative effect on local inhabitants and the environment. Nonetheless, I firmly believe that the merits of tourism take precedence over the demerits. On the one hand, international tourism has a positive impact as tourists spend money on a wide range of services, including hotels, amusements, transportation, and food. This way, tourism yields additional income, greatly supporting the countries’ economies. For instance, a country like Dubai has an oil industry for generating income but apart from,that there is no other source of income generation. However, a large number of tourists visit Dubai, due to Dubai's world-class tourist attractions. Furthermore, tourism increases the level of employment by bringing new jobs. For instance, the influx of tourists results in a larger demand for restaurant workers, tour guides, hotel staff and employees of retail services, exhorting business owners to hire more people for these positions. Hence, the local people and the Government in tourist places are benefited from tourism. Finally, whether it is photography, slow cuisine, new languages, philanthropic causes, or travel itself, individuals find new interests in new territories. Exposure to new cultures brings an entire set of new traditions and authentic experiences. On the other hand, despite the many advantages of international, tourism there are some disadvantages too, like the destruction of popular tourist destinations and the development of illegal economic activities. Ancient buildings, temples and monuments struggle to cope with a vast amount of visitor traffic and get damaged. Also, the large number of tourists can cause environmental problems. For instance, when places of interest are overcrowded, natural resources often become overexploited. Additionally, tourism can create more serious situations where criminal issues are involved. The presence of a considerable number of tourists with a lot of money to spend, and often carrying valuables such as cameras and jewellery, increases the attraction for criminals and brings with it activities like robbery and drug dealing. To conclude, although tourism has certain disadvantages like destructive effects and growth of crime rate, it has an extremely positive impact on the country’s economy and provides a large number of new jobs for the local people. Hence, these benefits of tourism outweigh its drawbacks.