Write 1000 words about an experience you have had learning another language. You can talk about the teacher, the material, methods and whether it worked for you and why?

Learning a second language has always been a passion of mine. During my primary education as a student I was forced to learn Tamil, which was widely used by people in the North East province and estates workers in the country and it was recommended in the school syllabus as well. However the learning process did not interest me much because it involved memorizing words and I hardly had anyone to talk with. Surprisingly, my term test marks for this particular language was high and I was over joyed for receiving good grades. When I recall this experience, today I understand the good grades were merely an illusion because I restricted myself to memorize a set of words in the syllabus to pass the exam without acquiring the language in its full potential to be a fluent speaker. Later on, still in my primary grades I had to learn another language and found it fascinating because the tone and flow appealed to me so much. It is nothing else than the Gateway to the globe, the much spoken English language. Since my childhood I was a passionate learner of English and many teachers helped me to progress in the process of Language acquisition. Even though I was good in learning the school syllabus and scoring good marks for evaluation tests I could not achieve fluency in English until I met this particular mentor a few years ago. My mentor is a non-native speaker of English originally, from Israel and I met her on the social medial platform in my quest to improve my English Skills. Her L1 is Hebrew and she had persuaded her tertiary education in the USA for about four years. Literally, she had worked studiously to improve her language abilities in English resulting to achieve her native like fluency. My mentor, Aleena, teaches her students through her own experience and she regularly discusses the challenges she had to face throughout her English learning Journey. On the other hand, what attracted her to me most is that being a non-native speaker who actually achieved native like fluency, she has sound knowledge of obstacles that is being faced by other non-native speakers and I think the phenomena cannot be understood by a native speaker because they are privileged with this Universal language. Her frequent advice to students was the best way to be fluent in English is “ practice.” Therefore she generally used pragmatic material and methodologies for teaching. She used the Direct Method, Audio lingual method, communicative Language teaching and Humanistic Approach which I now aware as methodologies of teaching. I would love to briefly explain her ways of teaching and resources she used.