Some people who have been in prison become good citizens later, and it is often argued that these are the best people to talk to teenagers about the dangers of committing a crime. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that there are a variety of conventional beliefs that elderly people still hold to this day. While I agree that some of these ideas are already outdated, the other ones can benefit young people in their preparation for modern life. To begin with, a certain number of traditional values can be seen as incompatible with the needs of the youth in present-day society. First, in the past, teenagers, for example, were advised by their predecessors to learn a profession and find a secure job after graduation. However, this idea is not appropriate for a group of today’s youngsters as they are willing to experience diverse jobs instead as a way to broaden their horizons in different areas and find a job that they can engage with in the long term while other young people tend to run their own business on the basis that they do want to be financially self-controlled and independent. Second, the possibly largest disparity between the beliefs of the elderly and the young is gender roles. Men in the past were normally regarded as breadwinners while women were housewives, but today’s community has witnessed an ever-increasingly number of female leaders, such as Angela Merkel - a former German president, holding high positions not only in the companies but also in the government as well. On the other hand, some conventional beliefs remain valuable and applicable to youngsters. First of all, our ancestors always attach great importance to hard work, a key element that leads us to success and prosperity and it seems to work effectively with the current society when young people still need to do their best to reach their life goals. In addition, patriotism is another example of this idea. Our forebears showed their patriotism by fighting against invaders and even sacrificing themselves to protect the sovereignty of our country while patriotism nowadays is encouraged and expressed in diverse ways ranging from small things like singing a national anthem proudly to more complex things such as contributing to the socio-economic development. In conclusion, despite some out-of-date traditional views, the remaining ideas are still useful for young people in their own modern lives and should not be forgotten.