Many students around the world don’t choose science subjects at university. Give the reasons for this and describe the impact on the community?

Nowadays, a number of students around the globe prefer arts or commerce subjects over science ones at university. The main reasons behind such sad scenario are the enormous difficulties faced by pupils to interpret key scientific terms and lack of meritorious science teachers. This alarming situation poses detrimental impacts on local community as well as the concerned country overall. This essay will demonstrate the reasons for not choosing science subjects at university levels and also illustrate its harmful influence on the society. To begin with, students currently find it difficult to understand vital mechanism behind a scientific occurring and hence don’t prefer science subjects. For example, an electrical engineering student needs excellent knowledge on the working principles of several electromechanical systems. A student willing to attend university if unable to master the basic art on alternating current generation, fail to choose such major science subjects. In addition, the scarcity of talented science lecturers prior to varsity level e.g. school and college in rustic areas also contribute significantly to this unwanted situation. Since there are not enough science learners at post HSC levels, countless miserable incidents emerging from this unwelcome condition may dent the advancement of a developing country. For example, in order to keep pace with modern technological trends, we need to excel the principle of artificial intelligence. If learners tend to focus more on non- science subjects, they’ll fail to learn the art of system control and automation, which results in more inclusion of non-skilled workers in AI-driven industry sectors and hence less efficient output. This phenomenon will extremely halt the prosperity of any developing nation. Also, people from local communities will be unaware how to use numerous automatic devices in their daily lives if they lack of proper knowledge of science. To recapitulate, causes like lack of good science teachers plus the unwillingness to realize vital terms mainly contribute to the scarcity of science learners at university levels and the resultant detrimental impacts severely affect the community plus the nation itself.