Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some believe that this information may be relevant and useful. While others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Employers frequently ask for personal information such as job seeker's like, dislike and marital status while it comes to choosing a person for a position. According to some, these inquiries may be of value for a company. However, others take the opposing view. I believe revealing personal details anywhere in the job application is not beneficial. On the one hand, some consider that providing personal information to employers is advantageous. Being aware of job applicants' interests might help the companies to offer incentives that suit the interests of their probable future staff. As an example, offering free club memberships to staff is common and these discounts can be done based on employees' areas of interest. Moreover, when an employer becomes aware of a person's marital status, can sometimes decide better to choose the suitable applicant for their job vacancy. As an example, a married employee is not suitable for a position that requires frequent travelling around the cities as a result of their marital commitments. On the other hand, many believe that personal information does not play an important role in hiring a person and I agree with them. Some information might leave a negative impression. Parents in single-parent families are a good example. The employer might presume that these interviewees have a number of duties which they cannot do or concentrate on their organizational duties properly. Definitely, this might reduce the chance of a candidate's success in the interviewing meeting. Furthermore, revealing personal information is considered an invasion of privacy and this is the main reason why people are irritated when they are confronted with these questions. That is because, job applicants might feel that their function in the interview can be affected by their situation. All in all, having considered a range of arguments, I believe that collecting personal information by employers is not helpful and interviewers must put their energy into becoming aware of the applicant's abilities for doing the job.