Some people believe that job provide both income and for a social life, while others think that friends should be made outside of work. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The line between work and social life is becoming increasingly blurred as people spend more time at their jobs. In my opinion, though having work friends has tangible benefits for career advancement, it is more important to have a life outside the office. Those in favour of a closed circle of work friends can argue the career benefits. Befriending co-workers and those higher up in a company can naturally translate to future promotions and other opportunities. For example, if a person starts out working for a law firm in a relatively low position as a clerk or even in the mail room, their best chance of being noticed by the upper echelons of management is through social connections. Supplemented with a solid work ethic, this increases an individual’s chances of standing out from other candidates and fast-tracking their career goals. Nonetheless, having friends outside work exposes one to a greater diversity of perspectives. When talking with work friends, the topics invariably focus on office politics, gossip, and industry-related discussions. Over time this can unwittingly have the effect of limiting one’s viewpoints. In contrast, if a person’s friends are employed in a variety of fields they will learn about other industries and be able to share their own expertise. This exchange of perspectives is the basis of creative thinking and goes a long way towards enlarging an individual’s knowledge of the world at large. In conclusion, the gains from having a diverse set of friends outweigh the career oriented benefits of work friends. Individuals must of course decide what will contribute most to a more satisfying all-around life