Car ownership has increased so rapidly over past thirty years that may cities in the world are now on big traffic jam. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

It is extremely rare to find someone who does not possess their own automobile nowadays. Especially during the last three decades, an alarmingly increasing percentage of car purchases has been recorded and despite their initial purpose for convenience and time saving, the world has been transformed into "one big traffic jam". Personally, not only am I in agreement with the latter statement but I am also inclined to believe that measures should be implemented. To begin with, it is undeniable that the ongoing traffic constitutes a major drawback when considering transportation in a city. One has to waste hours stuck on the roads due to the fact that over-consumption led to the belief that it is a requirement to own your own vehicle. What's more, is that several consumer buy multiple cars. As a result, they take up more space and disrupt free driving. To provide an example, the majority of families in Cyprus, have in their possession at least two cars. Some are parked outside their homes and consequently, they are blocking the street. Considering that money is a powerful motivation these days, governments should use this in order to minimize the disruption caused by traffic. Firstly, politicians should implement subsidies for people who own and continuously use their bicycles. Another way to achieve the aforementioned is to promote the utilization of public transportation. For instance, municipalities should drop the ticket prices of buses. Additionally, they could add more bus stops and hire drivers in order to decrease waiting time. All things considered, in modern societies, traffic jams are a growing problem. I am firmly convinced that it is essential to alter the nation's attitude towards ownership and try to promote other means of transport in an attempt to add a stop to it. Therefore, governments should take these suggestions into deep consideration.