Some employers are willing to give their workers a certain amount of unpaid sabbatical time, believing this benefits the individual and the organisation. Other employers see no merit in this arrangement and discourage it. Consider the possible arguments for and against unpaid sabbatical leave, and reach a viewpoint of your own.

Nowadays, employees are often granted a fixed period of sabbatical leaves with no payment and this tendency is believed to reduce the mental fatigue of the concerned people as well as enhance the prosperity of the company itself. Although, the contrasting views are also shared by other employers who believe that such unpaid leaves do not bring any good to their organisations and hence don’t approve those non-beneficiary vacations to their subordinates. My point of view in this regard is to allow the hard-working staff of any workstation to enjoy such sabbatical vacations. This essay will portray the reasons behind both sides of the argument and finally, mention my opinion regarding this key issue. Predominantly, any well-performing worker should be permitted to enjoy such unpaid leave because as a human being, taking a certain amount of rest from work and going for recreation with his friends and family are a couple of his basic needs. Granting such vacation will reduce the monotony of continuous office work and as a result, he’ll be extremely motivated and concentrate a lot more on his assignments and be able to work heart and soul for the betterment of his own organisation. Despite the conditions mentioned above, some employers are generally adamant to allow such sabbatical vacations to their subordinate colleagues. Because they think that such leaves are purely a waste of valuable work hours. For instance, the topmost management of several companies looking to earn excess profits and trying to meet the customer’s demand in due time won’t grant their workers such rest and recreation leaves as these’re believed to cut the harmony and coordination among staff. Hence, the bosses don’t see any merit in approving sabbatical leaves. In conclusion, although employers may vary in their decisions to give their workers a certain amount of unpaid sabbatical time, I think that it should be granted entirely due to the extreme reduction of boredom originating from scheduled lifestyles and earning prosperity for their organisations.