You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic. Some people feel that manufacturers and supermarkets have the responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging of goods. Others argue that customers should avoid buying goods with a lot of packaging. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

The world is struggling to curb the usage of polythene and plastic bags as they affect the habitat drastically. It is often argued that it is the responsibility of manufacturers and sellers to reduce the usage of packing plastic and polythene bags while some argue that customers should deter to buy goods which consist of harmful packing bags as they are not suitable for the habitat. This essay will discuss both views and offer a logical solution. First off, the sellers and producers should have a responsibility towards the habitat by reducing large amounts of packing materials. Manufacturers should invest in reusable or bio-degradable materials to pack their products. This may lead to the number of harmful packing materials going into the societies would be minimised. Further, it may also create awareness among the general public and customers to reduce the usage of harmful materials. On the other hand, consumers also play a major role in discouraging the use of harmful packing items. They may discourage the consumption of items which consist of packing items which are not conducive to the surroundings. It may reduce the revenue of large corporations that do not give enough priority to the surroundings. As a result, companies will be forced to change their packing items to retain their customers. To sum up, producers and sellers should find eco-friendly packing goods to pack their products and reduce the usage of goods which are harmful to the habitat. Similarly, consumers should reduce purchasing of items from sellers who do not make an effort to reduce using harmful packing goods. Therefore, It is a collective action which should be taken by everyone in the world including consumers, supermarkets and manufacturers.