Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment, only government and large companies can make a difference.

How to protect environment from continuing the tendency of deterioration has sparked bitter controversy among the public. Some people deny the power of individual actions and say they exert minimal impacts on reducing environmental pollution and only governments and companies can reverse the trend. Despite the fact that the effectiveness of governmental and enterprises’ measures, personal efforts should also be involved during this process. Authorities should take over the stage and unveil a series of far-reaching approaches to mitigate environmental pollution. The first useful method would be giving fines to people who litter in natural surroundings or scribble on public facilities.Authorities could also invest money on developing renewable energies such as solar and wind power to replace fossil fuels that emit large amount of greenhouse gases into the air.In the global landscape, governments can seek cooperations with international organizations to better preserve the nature, and practices such as Paris agreements would be a positive step in tackling climate change. Businesses should assist the government and play their own role in the course of environmental protection. One method that worth advocating is enterprises inventing eco-friendly products such as hybrid cars or even pure electric vehicles, which are readily available all over the globe, to replace conventional cars that run on gasoline.Companies should also make endeavors to upgrade their manufacturing machines to make their equipment give off less waste. Meanwhile, they need to constantly elevate the standard of production and better manage the sewage or other wastes to reduce environmental degradation. However, individual efforts cannot be ignored given the large number of populations globally. People could adopt greener lifestyles such as commuting by public transportation to reduce the reliance on private cars. Also, bike sharing schemes are also prevalent and popular options among the public that help environmental protection. Besides, people could replace plastic bags with eco-friendly products such as cloth ones, use stainless steel chopsticks instead of disposable cutlery to relieve white pollution and tree clearance. In conclusion, although personal efforts are trivial compared with what macro-policies can achieve, we could join hands to slow down even reverse environmental degradation considering the large population in the world.