Some people think that best way to reduce crime is to sentence long term prison.However,others think that there are alternative way to reduce crime describe both view points discuss your opinion.

There are a few groups of people who believe that long-duration punishment of criminals in prison can help to decline the crime rate. While other chunks of the population thinks there are many other methods which can benefit controlling crime. I will try to put forward my opinion regards to this topic in my essay further. Firstly, I would like to discuss sentencing a criminal for tenure should totally depend upon the nature of crime. And the judgement can be taken accordingly. For instance, If a person commits severe crimes like murder, rape and serial killing kind of action then they can penalised for lifetime imprisonment. Since sometimes it is difficult to change their aggressive nature or act. However, if a person is found guilty of offences like burglary, and minor fights and they are not harmful to society then they can be kept behind the bars for a shorter period. On the other hand, elaborating the other school of thought who are in favour of implementing other options is also correct to some extent. For example, for a criminal who has records of committing fraud or thief like crime on a regular basis then they can be given a session for psychological counselling in jail, which can help them to improve. Additionally, a heavy fine can be imposed on a person who commits crime which is not dangerous to the community. Because, this will also help them to understand their mistakes and give them chances to improve. In sum up, It is really difficult to stop crime completely, but also possible to control it to a certain extent by taking major actions and appropriate judgement with the level of crime. Similarly, better analysis of criminals' mentality will give room to improve them and they can also live as normal citizens.