Advertisements are becoming more and more common in everyday life. Is this a positive or negative development?

Today, our lives are seriously affected by advertisements that surround us. I believed the advantages corresponding to this phenomenon are more considerable than the minor disadvantages. On the one hand, a negative effect of advertisement on our lives may be encouraging people to purchase unnecessary goods. Since companies are aware of effects of advertising on individuals, they try to attract their attention by interesting and eye-catching advertisement. Therefore, it is more likely that people spend their money on buying useless products. Another perceived negative is that advertisement just focus on selling a brand. As a result, in many cases they do not consider themselves responsible for possible consequences. For instance, the health problems that society encounters by selling cigarette. On the other hand, a primary advantage of advertising is that it provides people with some information about the products that have recently been produced. For example, since technology is improving continuously, people should be informed about their new products. This is where advertising plays a vital role in introducing products to customers. And if the producers are oblivious to the importance of this issue, they will face many problems to sell their goods. A further benefit is solving the unemployment crisis. A large number of people are working in the advertising industry, directly and indirectly. Tangible financial profit has encouraged private investors to put their money into this section. Consequently, more people are recruited in offices and this helps to reduce the number of unemployed people in the society. On balance, it is true that advertising would seem disadvantageous under certain circumstances. However, in my view, its positive effects in term of introducing new products and decreasing unemployment rate override the downsides. MEHDI DELJOU AC