Some people think that the best way to reduce time spent in travelling to work is to replace parks and gardens close to the city centre with apartment buildings for commuters, but others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In recent times, due to a myriad of people starting working in,offices there was gridlock in peak hours which leads to an increase in wait time and delays in reaching the workplace on time.While some people argue that replacing entertainment areas near the city with high-rise buildings for the office worker will immensely bring down the commute time, others believe that such changes will adversely affect the environment. This essay will discuss both these points of view and argue in favour of the latter. On one hand, if the parks and gardens were replaced with buildings it can have a positive impact on society. In other words,with the development of, buildings the area will grow economically.The employees of the nearby offices can buy or rent the buildings for easy commute and can reduce the traffic congestion in the city. For example, fewer people will use their cars to travel to work and may use public transport or may choose to walk. Moreover, this, development will lead to the establishment of shops and other commercial buildings around that place and hence there would be chances of employment. On the other hand, because of,commercialization there are hardly any parks and gardens left in the city. Also,these kinds of places are an absolutely necessity for the kids to play and the older people to do their morning or evening walks and also for people of all ages to socialise. For example,in a recent survey by The Times of India 60% of people have shown concern about the reduction of parks and gardens in the city and pledged to plant more trees to reduce global warming. In my opinion, It is crucial to build more parks and gardens in the community to reduce the emission of carbon dioxide. Therefore though building high-rise apartments can help commuters, it will affect the environment adversely. In conclusion, instead of tearing down the parks and the greeneries around us, it would be more beneficial if the government can build more parks and gardens for the use of the general public.