Nowadays people depend on technology for leisure activities. Is this a positive or negative development?

In this modern day and age, thanks to the proliferation of ample high-tech means of recreation, people might opt for using electronic devices in their free time. It is my firm belief that this trend has both merits and demerits. On the one hand, it is easy to see the diversity of entertaining activities when using technology devices. Several entertainment applications could be downloaded and one can use their own personal cell phone in order to kill time using those apps. Besides, surfing social media has become one of the most common activities online. As a result, lots of people might spend hours scrolling social media platforms. Moreover, technology has widespread accessibility. Only with a wifi-connected phone can people access the internet everywhere and many entertaining activities can be done with the internet. For example, one can watch almost all videos on YouTube, one of the most famous video-streaming websites, as long as they own a phone which is connected to the wifi. On the other hand, there are lots of downsides to spending time on technology for recreational purposes. To begin with, using technology devices for a long period might cause many health issues. Being affected by the blue light of several electronic devices for hours may lead to the result of eye problems. Also, people often opt for sitting or lying on their bed using phones or tablets and this can be the main reason for the sedentary lifestyle. Additionally, not only health but also social life is negatively affected. When one uses their phone too much, they often tend to not communicate with others and after a long period of not contacting other people, they may find it difficult to make friends. In conclusion, due to the development of technology, individuals select electronic devices in their free time. I am firmly convinced that this trend shows both upsides and downsides.