Volunteer work organized by middle schools brings more benefits than problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Volunteer work has been promoted as an attractive feature by many schools and even designated as a necessary requirement for graduation. I believe that unpaid work is beneficial to students, although it would lead to some problems in some cases. One benefit of volunteering is that it could help them expand their skills and enrich their life after school. Certainly, it provides students with an opportunity to tackle problems and get over challenges that appear in their volunteer work. For instance, if they are required to raise funds for the charity, they need to give proper reasons to potential patrons, because their goal is to persuade them to donate money, which greatly exercises their communication skills. Or/another situation is that they need to introduce some exhibits to visitors in the museum and address their enquiries from them with patience. Both of these scenes could have a beneficial effect on students ’ development and exercise their communication skills in order to prepare them for their future work, which is involved in interaction and communication with their colleagues. Another advantage associated with unpaid work for students is that they could learn a sense of responsibility by serving communities. They could impart their advanced knowledge to some unfamiliar students from disadvantaged backgrounds, helping them finish their homework and overcome difficulties in studying. This practice could also allow them to make progress in studying together. In addition, voluntary students may also need to take care of the elderly in the community. Their behavior would make old people feel concerned by others and give a sense of happiness to them, preventing them from being isolated and anxious. From whatever perspective, unpaid work would benefit both volunteers and communities. On the other hand, volunteering may affect students life adversely. Some students devote too much time to the unpaid work, resulting in a fact that they do not have enough energy on their studying. Eventually, they may get poor exam grades and be disgusted with volunteer work, thinking that the result is caused by unpaid work interfering with their life. This situation is not what people hope to happen. In conclusion, volunteering plays an important role in students life after school, although it may achieve some negative outcomes.