Environmental damage is the problem of most countries. What factors damage the environment and who should take responsibility?

In recent times, many countries have faced a catastrophic environment. There are two factors that cause this issue, namely motor vehicle pollution, and the overuse of plastic bags. From my perspective, the government can be blamed for this issue, and government must take part in protecting and preserving the environment. To begin with, all motor vehicles, when the engine operates, release pollutants into the air, including carbon monoxide, nitrogen oxides, and hydrocarbons, which react with sunlight and warm temperature to form ground-level ozone that can cause respiratory problems and lung damage. This problem occurs in big cities because population growth means more vehicles on the road, so people having respiratory problems are more common in cities than in villages. Moreover, plastic pollution is a serious problem since plastic can take thousands of years to degrade in the environment naturally. This trash exists everywhere, from beaches to roadsides and even the furthest reaches of the ocean. For instance, a few years ago, when people went to the beach, they could see their faces clearly on the water, but now, the clear face is gone and replaced by pale plastic. Furthermore, the issues appear because of the lack of attention and supervision from the government. They should take short-term action, namely improving public transportation facilities so that people do not hesitate to use them and limiting the use of plastic in society, whilst in long-term steps, whereas, in long-term action, the government can switch to using eco-friendly fuel for vehicles and biodegradable materials for packaging. In conclusion, many countries experience environmental problems because of the uncontrolled number of vehicles and the use of plastic materials, so the government must be able to take decisive steps to overcome this problem.