In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise tha their products are new in some ways. Why is this?Do you think it is a positive and negative development?

Nowadays, the business industry is becoming very competitive, and due to this fact, many companies try to indicate their own products as the newest available on the market. This happens because people are attracted by new items and I think that this has bad consequences. In this essay I will explain my point of view and I will also provide some examples. To begin with, in our society there is a huge number of businesses, physical stores or online. In order to stand out from the competition, they use some marketing moves. One of them, probably the most popular, is based on making customers believe that their items are the most recent. This strategy works because many studies conducted during the last decades, reported the fancy of people about being always the first, in every situation. If someone wants to be the first, what he needs? Obviously, new products are available on the market, especially when it comes to the car industry and mobile phones, for example. In my opinion, this is not a good trend for humankind and for the environment. If companies produce every year or every six months new items, in order to not lose their customers' attention, it means that people throw away their goods very frequently, to buy new ones. It's important to notice that most of the time, these new goods are slightly better than the previous ones and are apparently identical, this is common to see during iPhone release held every September, when millions of Apple fans buy the new smartphone, also if is identical as the previous year. Furthermore, this creates a huge environmental problem because the recycling industry is overwhelmed, due to the fact that due to the high speed of our consumeristic society, there are too many materials to recycle. The overloading of garbage accumulated in nature or in the sea, and this is a huge problem for human beings but also for animals and plants. To conclude, today, businesses leverage the crazy idea of new, spread among people, and by doing this, individuals are inevitably attracted by their products, also if they are not so special. I strongly believe that this consumeristic attitude leads to serious problems for the environment and I think that governments should take some action in order to fix it.