It is now possible for scientists and tourists to travel to remote natural environments, such as the South Pole. Do the advantages of this development outweigh disadvantages?

With all the recent breakthroughs in different spheres, such as transportation, new materials and telecommunication facilities, people can reach even far-flung territories. However, the drawbacks of such interventions might cross the possible benefits of these advances. On the one hand, scholars are eager to explore our planet thoroughly. Travelling to such prominent places as Poles, mountain peaks or ocean bottom gives us a chance to investigate the core processes of life and the whole existence of our planet. Not only scientists are fascinated by the prospects of overmastering every nook and corner of the planet, but also the ordinary travellers who are thrilled by the opportunity to pave an unbeaten trail. They are offered various tours and cruises to the most intriguing parts of the world with all the range of exclusive activities, namely safaris in the wilderness, whale onlooking, conquering the highest peaks possible or helicoptering over sleeping or even erupting volcanoes. Nevertheless, people are thus entering the areas hidden from a human’s eye for millions of years and inevitably they are likely to disturb the tranquillity and the harmony of these pristine places. The natural habitats and some species might be under threat when people start to invade their environments. Summing up, exploring new territories and plunging into new depths can become a great step in scientific researches and lead to new discoveries and scientific brainwaves. At the same time the side-effects can outweigh the benefits taking into account how harmful human influence can be for the nature. When intruding into virgin territories, people should meticulously count all the pro and contra and be thoughtful and careful when dealing with intact regions. (274 words - 41min)