The internet has transformed the way information is shared and consumed, but it has also created problems that did not exist before. What are the most serious problems associated with the internet and what solutions can you suggest? You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write at least 250 words.

The internet has become one of the most essential needs of humans and it has been widely used to share information and communicate with people. This system of computer networks has created many serious problems as well. This essay will discuss the problems of using the internet and offer possible solutions to avoid them. First off, the main problems caused by the internet are fraudulent activities and circulating inaccurate information. Nowadays, payments are done through online banking applications or e-commerce websites. Intruders try to hack into these applications and gather personal data in order to get a ransom money from the internet users. Due to inefficiency of cybercrime unit or intelligence of hackers, it must be difficult to identify the criminals and take legal actions against them. Moreover, there is no validation on the information shared on the internet. Anyone can share or create fake news without validating. This may create unrestfulness among the societies. For example, there are many instances in the world, where some online users shared fake information and created riots in the countries. There are few solutions which could be implemented to mitigate above mentioned problems like improving cybercrime unit by bringing new laws and regulations on the online transactions and deploying watchdog journalism in respective countries. Governments should discuss with cybercrime specialists to understand the nature of fraudulent activities and how it can be controlled by passing new laws. For instance, few years ago, there was a famous hacker who hacked American banking system by sending a Trojan Horse virus. The government of United States has understood the knowledge of the hacker and gave him a job as a national service advisor to help the government to understand the methods of hacking and identify other hackers operate in the country. Also new laws were passed to punish these hackers. Further, non government organisations can deploy watchdogs journalists on the social media platform to identify fake news and report it to law enforcement officials or social media administrators to take necessary actions. In conclusion, the internet has created significant problems across the world, including fraudulent activities and sharing inaccurate or fake information. Two effective strategies such as improving the cybercrime unit and including watchdog journalism in respective countries to minimise the key issues caused by the internet.