Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is no doubt that cars are one of the most frequent transportation means, and nowadays, many use these vehicles to commute on a daily basis. However, there are some experts who forecast that in the near future they will be replaced, I am among those who believe that the number of cars in use will decrease, and in the following, I will elaborate on the reasons. First, according to statistics, in the upcoming twenty years, our natural resources like oil and gas will decrease sharply, and the scarcity of these materials will increase the price of such chemicals dramatically. Donald et al. revealed in a recently published paper that the price of one liter of gas in Los Angeles, California, will be more than 200 dollars in less than 10 years. It is evident that most people cannot afford such high prices and have to use public transportation instead. With the decreasing number of people who can fuel their cars, market demand for buying cars will drop sharply, and many car manufacturers will be broken and their production lines will be closed. To make a long story short, it seems sweeping changes related to the fuel cars consume are required to predict anything other than a decreasing number of cars in use. Second, many may argue that technological revolutions may change the game and that green fuels will change the paradigm. There is one main candidate: hydrogen fuels. Researchers are working hard on Li-ion batteries and solid oxide fuel cells to replace current engines, which use hydrogen and produce water as a byproduct of combusting H2 gas. It is proven that these two novel engines are not qualified substitutes, as having vehicles use such sources of energy may require a revolution in many infrastructures, such as gas stations. Charging the new batteries necessitates the complete replacement of gas stations with some completely new energy stations. When we consider the number of stations and the costly process of constructing the required structures, it appears that it does not make sense. Therefore, there are significant barriers in the way of developing such modern cars, and many countries, including developing countries, will not be able to promote the use of these state-of-the-art automobiles. All in all, I agree with the idea that car use will not be as widespread as it is today. The high prices of non-renewable resources, on the one hand, and the financial difficulties that many counties may face while building necessary infrastructure, on the other hand, will definitely block any further use. I can see vividly the day when public transportation will be the dominant mode of transportation and private ownership of cars will be useless.