Topic: Some parents believe that learning mathematics at school is redundant and should not be taught while others believe that it should remain a foundational subject whether or not it is used later in life. Discuss both sides

The presence of mathematics has a positive impact in our daily life as we continue to rely on it for counting, resolving equations and much more. Some think that learning maths has no importance and therefore request that students do not learn it while others argue that it is indeed an essential subject. This essay will explain why some are against the study of mathematics and also point out why others believe learning maths is of the utmost importance. Many support the idea that learning mathematics is not necessary because once a student graduates from school, they are presented with several jobs, a handful of them not requiring knowledge of maths. An example of a job that doesn’t require knowledge of mathematics is that of a driver, many support this idea by arguing that a driver is someone who takes people from one point to another that could be through a vehicle or another mode of transport that uses the road and therefore they only need to know how to drive a vehicle and know the rules/codes of the road. In contrast, people still believe that learning of mathematics is very essential. They support this ideology by arguing maths is widely used in our daily life. For instance whenever one makes a purchase at a store of a given item ($20) using cash and assume this person only has a $100 note, the cashier has to return them $80usd. In developed countries a computer will process the equation and the cashier returns the amount displayed on the screen to the customer; however, in some developing countries people would choose to use their brains to perform such equations in other words using several techniques they learnt while in school such as addition and subtraction. That being the case, people strongly support the importance of taking maths classes. In conclusion, this essay discussed why one the one hand some believe that mathematics should not be compulsory and on the other hand why maths is very essential in our daily life.