Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

In the contemporary era, numerous individuals would rather self-employ than apply for a position in an enterprise or organisation. I believe that the increasing number of bankrupted companies is definitely one of the reasons that contributed to this phenomenon. However, self-employment may result in people losing connections with others. First and foremost, as countless companies collapsed after one another, the number of independent workers skyrocketed accordingly. Undoubtedly, individuals who became unemployed due to the bankruptcy of their employers would decide to earn their incomes on their own, instead of relying on salaries provided by unstable firms. For instance, with corporations bankrupting continuously during the Covid-19 pandemic, an enormous proportion of youngsters who lost their occupations switched to a Youtube career. As a result, the self-employment rate increased significantly. Nevertheless, individuals who work independently might experience isolation from others gradually. Undeniably, people who work by themselves usually complete their jobs at home, and consequently were deprived of the opportunities to socialize with colleagues in an organization. For instance, a high percentage of freelance workers often ended up separated from people, due to the lack of socialization in their private working environments. Therefore, switching to independent working lifestyles may lead to disconnection from society, which is a disadvantage. In conclusion, I believe that the continual collapse of firms is definitely the major reason that resulted in the increased self-employment rate. Unfortunately, because of the shortage of socializing opportunities in the workplace, independent workers are likely to experience separation from others.