Some people think that the government should establish free libraries in each town. Others, however, believe that it is a waste of money since the public can use the Internet at home to obtain information. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

A lot of people are trying to get their information through the internet, instead of going to the library searching for the information that they need. Some people seem to find free libraries a waste of money, but it that really the case? Are libraries exchangeable with the internet? In this,essay the pros and cons of libraries and internet will be analysed to get to a conclusion. Firstly, I believe that libraries and internet are really not comparable. Even if it is very easy to find information through the internet, it is just not the same way of researching. Secondly, libraries are not only existing out of research reasons, but also for free time. It's nice to go search through the library for a nice book in your free time. Therefore, libraries are useful in different situations. On the other side, researching on the internet is less time consuming, and there is generally more information. So you get easier and quicker to the answers that you need. Also, fewer books need to get printed, which has a smaller environmental impact. In conclusion, by outweighing the pros and cons, I still believe that free, public libraries are still very important and can't be exchanged by the internet. Both are important in some ways. But the nice and free time aspect of libraries should not be forgotten. Therefore, I think libraries are still very important in this society, as it is a very nice time to spend your time just reading. For me, they are not a waste of money to the government.