Some people who have been in prison become good citizens later, and it is often argued that these are the best people to talk to teenagers about the dangers of committing a crime. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people consider that the best people to educate the younger generation about how dangerous committing a crime could be are those ex-offenders. I partly agree with this idea. I understand that these ex-prisoners have educational meaning. They can tell the youth how they are involved in crime, what prison life is like, and how their lives have been changed after committing a crime. It seems that they are more convincing to younger people because ex-prisoners have real experience with life in prison. The vivid and perhaps shocking nature of these stories may have some deterrent impact. However, I doubt that these reformed prisoners may intentionally pass on the message that the result of making a crime is not as terrible as what people usually think of, because criminals have enough chances to alter themselves in prison. And these reformed criminals are right the reference to this. This situation may cause an opposite effect to deterrent. Therefore, I think there are better alternatives to educating young people about the danger of committing a crime. Police officers can be more suitable to talk about this with teenagers. They can speak more about the boring prison life and the long-term impact of prison periods on criminals. For example, many ex-prisoners have been caught in trouble when finding decent jobs. This information can pose a stronger deterrent to students. To sum up, I believe that people like police officers can have expected effects when educating younger adults on crime things, while the citizens who used to be in prison can have some effects on this topic to some extent.