Today many children spend a lot of time playing computer games and little time on sports. Why is it? Is it a positive negative development?

Nowadays, people’s life is depending on electronic products a lot like mobile phones, computers, TV, etc. The phenomenon is that children spend too much time on electronic games and less on sports both positively and negatively has aroused a wide concern among various circles. Divergent as people’s views on this issue in question may be, I believe that this has more likely to have a harmful impact. Regarding the positive side of playing computer games, probably the most significant benefit is that it provides an experience you hard to find in the reality. Computer games provide a different view of the world, the player can use a virtual character to enjoy the fiction world with some ability or weapon such as magic, gun, sword, etc. Children can also feel a sense of accomplishment via playing the game. For example, most computer games require player to level up their virtual character. They usually start off easy but then the difficult gradually increase and players can unlock other ability or equipment. This experience and sense of achievement make children splurge time on computer games - even sacrifice time for sports. In my opinion, the aforementioned trend is without a doubt a negative development. Children spend so much time sitting in front of the computer will jeopardize their health. For instance, children rather glue their eyes to the computer screen than to participate in outdoor sports - obesity and cardiovascular diseases among children are not uncommon due to the lack of exercise. Not only are sports indispensable to their physical health, but they are also a crucial element in developing children's social skills. Many sports activities require teamwork like football, basketball and volleyball. Without those activities, children will lack of practical chance of social skills. Over time, they will avoid face-to-face communicate with people. As a result, addiction to computer games will excessively affect children physically and mentally. Under this link of thinking, there good arguments in favor of playing computer games. However, it can be detrimental in several ways to the children.