In many countries, more and more women have full-time jobs as men, so there is logic that men and women should share the household tasks equally. To what extent to you agree or disagree?

In recent days, there is a rising trend for women to have full-time work, entering the labour market with equivalent access as men. Undoubtedly, the conventional allocation of housework in which women undertake the majority of the work may not work well with “double income” families. Some people believe strongly that both men and women should participate in everyday chores and contribute equally. I partly agree with this view. On the one hand, it is no doubt that both males and females should contribute to a family, both economically and physically. Before the industrial revolution, males used to secure full-time jobs, undertaking the responsibility to support their families financially. Women took in-house chores independently and covered every duty at home. However, we now live in a modern society where men and women share an equivalent right to a job, and both are capable of earning sufficient income to make a living. Both have to commute from work to home on a daily basis, bearing the same level of stress and anxiety from work. Therefore, as both men and women can contribute to the family financially, it does not make sense to allocate all physical work to women anymore. Furthermore, active participation/engagement from both mother and father sets an excellent example to children, teaching them how to cooperate with others harmoniously and effectively. On the other hand, it is irrational and difficult to determine equality in household tasks because people have different specialities and preferences. What is considered tough and time-consuming by a husband, may be seen as a piece of cake by a wife. In my opinion, couples should share household responsibilities, and the allocation of detailed work should be based on personal strengths and habits. For example, a husband who enjoys tutoring children with school work should be granted the task, and his wife can choose other tasks with which she feels comfortable. When it comes to some undecided tasks that nobody wants, it is crucial for a couple to have a talk and understand what the other party thinks before reaching/agreeing to a final decision. In essence, I believe that both husband and wife should participate actively in household work and make their contribution to the family, but absolute fairness is not necessary to keep the game running. After all, a couple is consisted of two partners, working jointly to live a life of happiness and self-fulfilment.