With the increasing use of mobile phones and computers, fewer people are writing letters. Some people think that the traditional skill of writing letters will disappear completely. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What do you think of the importance of letter-writing?

Due to our technologically advanced, the use of smartphones and computers is becoming increasingly popular around the world. Some might think that messages and emails will substitute the traditional use of writing letters. However, I believe that the importance of writing letters can’t be replaced and writing skills won’t vanish. To begin with, it is without a doubt that texting messages and sending emails are much more convenient and easy than handwriting, since people only need to use a finger or two to communicate with others. Moreover, it can be time-saving, with the development of the internet we can contact others within seconds, in contrast, it might take a week or two for your letter to be delivered. Furthermore, keeping in touch through phones and computers can be environmentally friendly, due to the reduced use of paper. However, even with the many advantages that texting brings, I still regard it will not prevail over handwriting in the future. The main reason is handwriting can show a gesture of love, which texting can’t achieve. For example, writing your friend a birthday card will make her happier than, by contrast sending her birthday texts. In addition, people can feel others' emotions through writing, and we often feel more touched by letters instead of texts. In conclusion, it is undeniable that using telecommunicating has numerous benefits, both for humans and the environment, however, the sentiments that handwriting transmits still cannot be replaced. As a result, I believed that the traditional technique of handwriting will not totally disappear in the foreseeing future.