Some people think that sending criminals to prison is not effective. Education and job training should be used instead. Do you agree or disagree?

There is a school of thought that jailing criminals in prison does not have many positive effect. Instead of that, they should attend education and job training courses. Personally, I would argue against this idea since without being punished bad people will not know what they have done is not allowed. There are compelling reasons as to why sending criminals into jail is a good idea regarding making them to apologize for their faults and reducing the rate of bad behavior in society. Regarding the former, people must have their responsibility for what they have done. In fact, if a bad person is released without punishment, they tend to replay what they have done. With respect to the latter, keeping criminals in prison is the best way to protect citizens from them. For that reason, the criminal rate will be lowered and residents do not have to worry about their safety. However, I am also convinced that education and job training should also be used in prison concerning the rise in workforce and giving people a chance to remake their life. For one, prison should include educating programs for criminals and teaching them simple job. This, can improve the number of workforces in heavy work. In addition, when the punishment period ends, prisoners will have theories and experience in doing what they have been taught. Moreover, they can have opportunities to rejoin with the society. In conclusion, while there are justifications for criminals that they should be educated and trained some job instead of sending to prison, I would contend that both of these should be used to produce the most effective way.