Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent you agree or disagree to this statement ?

It is a common belief among the public that the authorities should invest more on railways compared to the road network. Although there are pros and cons in both modes of transports, I strongly agree with this statement. The railways should receive a priority for a number of reasons. Firstly, it is a mode of mass transport, hence it boosts the efficacy of the transport in a country. Moreover, trains are well known for rapid transportation of passengers and goods, saving valuable time of the service users. For example, the Bullet train in Japan can hit a speed limit of 600 kilometres per hour, which is not possible to achieve in any of the methods using roads. In addition, most modern trains are environment friendly because it utilises electricity rather than burning fossil fuel as its source of energy. Therefore, it is obvious that the locomotives are a fast and clean method of transport that should get a priority over others. On the other hand, transport services using road network have their own benefits. Firstly, this method provides access to all parts of the country as train service cannot practically cover every corner due to the cost and geographical challenges. Similarly, this method does not depend on a schedule compared to the train service. Therefore, it provides more liberty for the service users unlike the former method. For instance, an individual can use his own car whenever he needs to fulfil his transport requirements, if the government invests more on roads. However, these benefits do not outweigh the advantages of a proper railway network. In conclusion, developing a railway system is more beneficial for a country in many aspects rather than investing large amount of money on roads. Authorities should reserve a significant proportion of their budgets to develop it in future.