Some people feel that manufacturers and super markets have the responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging of goods. Other agree that customers should avoid buying goods with a lot of packaging. Discuss both views, and give your opinion.

The over-packaging of products selling in the markets is becoming more serious nowadays, although some people say it should be minimized the packages from the manufacturing side, I believe that consumers should be avoiding purchasing goods with lots of packaging. On one side, the manufacturers, especially in the food industries, produce their foods in individual wraps. This is because the demand for the individual package product has higher demand by customers. For example, the value pack of potato chips including more than one favour is more popular than the singular favour of chips under the same price in the supermarket, while consumers have a higher enjoyable experience trying different favours, moreover, the individual packaging can enables the chips to remain crispy. With this in mind, the market demand has driven the manufacturers to put more wraps on their goods. On the face of it when people suggest that manufacturing companies should be responsible for reducing the packing, I believe the end users should indeed take more responsibility for changing their buying behaviour. Given that the consumer can buy a proper size of the product to fulfil his actual need, the family size of the excessive amount of food as well as the unnecessary packing can be reduced. For instance, instead of going to the supermarket that sells products in huge sizes such as Cosco, there are some newly introduced shops which promote naked packages, which means the customers going to these shops should prepare their own containers, while the goods in there are counted in grams that people can buy on whatever quantity they require. In other words, the need for packing can be eliminated. In conclusion, under this line of thinking, the end users can initiate the change of reducing packages of products by changing their purchasing habits.