Nowadays many people prefer to seek medical advice on the Internet instead of seeing a qualified doctor. What are the reasons for it? is it a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays people prefer to find solutions to their medical issues on the Internet rather than referring to a doctor. One reason for that can be the environment of the Internet which provides all desired information readily for users. However, because medical issues are very complicated, it can cause misunderstandings when a nonspecialized person read them. One causing factor for people’s tendency to seek medical advice on the Internet can be the the fact that it is convenient. In the other words all information relating to a special medical the problems are accessible by a simple search on the Internet within a few minutes. For example, consider a person who is suffering from a sore throat. Instead of searching for a doctor, making an appointment and waiting until his or her turn; they can easily sit on their sofa, bring their cell phone and seek medical advice online. Therefore, this person prefers seeking for medical advice on the Internet rather than referring to a doctor. Although all the needed information can be accessed from some sites on the Internet, getting medical advice from these sites might have bad consequences, because of misunderstandings. By that I mean, because medical issues and the methods of dealing with them, are complicated; nonspecialized people might not understand them properly. As a result, they might do something which is not good for their health. In conclusion, although using the internet makes it possible to access all information and advice required for medical issues, sometimes ordinary people can not understand them very well, resulting in using them in a hazardous way. By this view point, this trend is negative. To solve this problem, individuals can use valid sites which can help them to increase their medical knowledge. However, it is better to consult with a doctor before using a special medicine or implementing a special method of dealing with the disease. Therefore, the bad consequences of misunderstandings would be prevented.