In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasize that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Advertising plays a vital role for businesses in raising awareness of their products to potential customers. Moreover, it is quite obvious that many companies tend to emphasize that their products are brand-new. This essay will elaborate on the reason behind this trend and argue why I am of the opinion that this is a negative movement. To begin with, there are a number of contributing factors associated with announcing that their products are new. The first reason is that it is an easy way to attract customers to keep buying their products. For example, Lays, a potato chips company, keep launching their snacks in a new flavour every year in order to allure customers to buy them again and again. Secondly, people tend to feel trendy owning the latest version of the products. For instance, studies have shown that people averagely buy a new car every three years to catch up with the latest technology. Personally, I firmly believe that this is a disadvantageous trend. The most important drawback is that it enables the companies to take advantage of their customers by keeping resell the old products with just minor changes instead of inventing new innovations for the markets. iPhone is a prime example of this, the company launches a new version of its smartphone every year despite the fact that it is almost similar to the last version. Furthermore, this trend also encourages a throw-away culture, and this will increase the amount of rubbishes in our world. Take the fashion industry, for example; there are some groups of people who are looking to purchase the latest collection of brand-name bags every season although their current ones still function perfectly. In conclusion, although it is undeniable that launching a new product can effectively attract new customers, I am of the opinion that this is a negative development, especially in terms of instilling a throw-away behaviour in society.