Is it responsibility of individuals to change their lifestyle to prevent climate change?

Nowadays, climate change becomes an earth-shaking issue among people around the world. Especially, experts are worried about the consequences of global warming such as the rise of sea levels and deforestation. American environmentalist Bill McKibben said: “We’ve been given a warning by science and a wake-up call by nature; it is up to us now to heed them.” So is it our responsibility to preserve our nature? This problem is a global topic so if we desire to reduce that, it is impossible to do that through just one individual's action. One of the most toxic causes is generating electricity and heat by burning fossil fuels. It produces greenhouse gases that blanket the Earth and trap the Sun's heat. Therefore, governments around the world should take action. For example, they can motivate people to use renewable energy and develop their countries' technology that generates eco-friendly electricity. If these ideas were adopted, I expect that it will become a temporary matter. However, the government has done it, there are plenty of causes that are related to individuals' actions. The world's population is increasing rapidly and it has just reached 8 billion. Because of that, nature could not provide for our consumption. So, in order to turn down pollution, we have to control our utilization by lessening the usage of transportation, food waste and recycling old things. If individuals also change their lifestyle in this way. At least, we can achieve results by reducing the amount of electricity, food and consumer products that are wasted. To summarize, only government activity could not solve this issue because individuals are the main group which has a great impact on nature. So I think it would be efficient if people act decisively to prevent further damage.