Some people spend most of their lives living close to where they were born. What might be the reasons for this? What are the advantages and disadvantages?

Some people believe that living near their hometown helps them to remain close to their family and childhood friends. Further, it eliminates loneliness if they stay in the same culture and society in which they were born. In this essay, I will explain that staying close to the native has its own advantages and disadvantages. There are two clear reasons why some people like to live close to their hometown. Firstly, they can live close to their family members, especially their parents and childhood friends, and can spend more time of the life with them to create memories that they can cherish lifelong. Secondly, to avoid the feeling of being away from the culture and society in which they were born. For instance, celebrating cultural rituals and festivals in mass with people who share the same cultural identity gives immense pleasure that a person can never get in a different cultural environment. Besides the previously mentioned reasons, in my view, living next to the birthplace has some merits and demerits. One main benefit that people can get is that they and their family members can look after each other during their tough times. For example, if they fall sick, their parents and other family members can take better care of them and vice versa. Additionally, their parents and relatives can assist them in raising their kids when they are out because of regular office work or some emergency. On the contrary, people may complain about not getting enough me-time for themselves as they have to be available to attend to their dear ones whenever required. Furthermore, living closer may create friction between them and their loved ones over petty issues that may result in estrangement. In conclusion, I would argue that preferring to live close to the hometown for the company of parents and loved ones and to avoid the feeling of missing own culture and society can be beneficial on the one hand but may have certain drawbacks too on the other hand.