With a growing population, many people believe that we should focus on producing more GM food. What are the advantages and disadvantages of doing this? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In this modern era, a variety of food supplies are available at any instant. Due to increasing population around the world, many people think that it must be more focused on genetically modified (GM) food production. This essay will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of such genetically engineered consumables. To commence with, the major advantage is that it is a more nutritive compared to others food components. Nowadays, most of the crops are grown with the excessive use of pesticides and fertilizers which sometimes makes the crop poisonous. For instance, in present days, fertilizers used in agriculture have large amount of chemical content that directly affect the food product. In addition to that, this type of modified food has medical benefits and also reduce cause for food protection. Accordingly, these possibilities make GM food more productive and advantageous. On the flip hand, the foremost disadvantage is that it may cause allergic reactions in human body. It states that genetic modifications add or mixes unwanted proteins that might result allergies in some individuals. For example, there are people whose body reject certain kind of elements of food which visible as bodily irritations. Therefore, the reform to food products might affect the immune system of humans. Furthermore, it is also not safe to consume them because of the possibility of new disease as a result of using different bacteria and viruses, thus, chemical reactions inside the body may bring different sickness adding further reasons for the list of negativities. To conclude, genetically modified products have both pros and cons. The advantages are that it is nutritious and reduced cost of food production while the disadvantages include the allergic reaction in humans and the emergence of new diseases.