Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programs (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that volunteering should be made part of the school curriculum. This essay agrees with that suggestion completely because of the benefits it brings to pupils by helping the students develop soft skills and then being valued by universities and employers. Education should go beyond the limitations to strictly academic pursuits and those in education should also develop life skills, such as teamwork, empathy and self-discipline, and one of the best ways to hone these aptitudes is through community service. Serving those less fortunate than ourselves teaches us many lessons including how to endeavour with people from other backgrounds and the value of the hard job. For example, being volunteered to spend a few weeks in charities can teach children to learn higher performance ethics when they return to their studies. Many colleges and companies are also increasingly looking for this type of experience. Most school leavers have the same grades and charitable works can help set them apart from the herd. For example, Cambridge and Oxford receive thousands of applications from straight-A students every year and can only accept a small percentage of applicants. What they have done outside the classroom is often the thing that differentiates them from everyone else and reaches them the coveted spot. In conclusion, teenagers should be made to partake in unpaid endeavours as part of their schooling because it will help them learn things they wouldn’t ordinarily learn from their teachers and it will also boost their chances of getting into third -level education.