Some feel that punishment should focus more on rehabilitation instead of long prison terms. Others feel prison terms are important for social stability.Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Nowadays, number of countries that soften their law because of the humaneness conception dramatically increased. And that’s why a lot of punishment became replaced with rehabilitation. So, a lot of people support such changes whereas others argue that rehabilitation it’s not enough. It is agreed that long prison term as are vital for general stability. This essay will discuss both these points of view and argue in favour of the latter. On the other hand, actually rehabilitation might influence on intruder in positive way. Furthermore, a lot of people believe that rehabilitation is the key to treating these people and preventing them from committing the same crimes when they get out of prison. For instance, in Switzerland, rehabilitation is widely practiced instead of long prison terms. People who committed crimes due to mental disorders start treatment in a prison and then are transferred to special institutions where they continue treatment until complete recovery. This applies to drug addicts and people with various mental disorders. In general,quite reasonable practice. On the other hand, even after full recovery there are high probability that people will commit same crimes again and again. For instance, in USA, criminals are more prisoner than rehabilitated. Furthermore, in USA is the highest indicator of imprisonment in the world. As a lot of Americans believe that criminals always remains criminals. They reckon that offenders could imitate recovery in order to be freed quicker. From my point of view, human who managed to commit heavy crime ones, will do it again. Also,it is proven by a lot of psychiatrist that you can’t be sure for 100 percent that person are fully recover and no longer suffer from disorder. To summarise, actually rehabilitation it’s a not bad idea. But people will feel more safer themselves if long prisons term will be applied at the same time. Therefore, rehabilitation won’t replace imprisonment completely and authorities should be focused more on long terms rather than rehabilitation.