Some feel that punishment should focus more on rehabilitation instead of long prison terms. Others feel prison terms are important for social stability. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

At this present time, there is an argument in society to discuss the best method to reduce the crime rate. Some individuals claim that giving longer prison sentences is an effective solution to lower crime. Whereas other individuals suggest that rehabilitation is the better way. Both sides of these contrasting views will be analysed and also my opinion is given in this essay To begin with, the long period of sentence in prison could effectively reduce crime since it makes people afraid to commit crimes. For example, pickpocketing can lead to 10 years in prison. Citizens will carefully think before taking criminals. Thus, crime will eventually reduce. Some countries like Singapore are the best example of how to enforce uncompromising long prison terms in their laws which lead to peace and low crime rate in their society. In contrast, others think that rehabilitation should be the purpose of the justice system, not long-term punishment because of multiple reasons. Firstly, rehabilitation is a long-term solution for criminals as it provides educational and vocational training to build relevant skills needed for a smooth transition back into the workforce. In addition, rehabilitation directly tackles some root causes of criminality, which are social problems. For example, the reason why innocent people become thieves might come from their poverty because they need to find money to survive but don’t have match skills in the market. Thus, they select the wrong path and method to become thieves. In summary, both views of this argument are discussed. However, I strongly believe that a combination of long prison and rehabilitation is the best solution to reduce the crime rate. Long prison time could stop people from doing crime as the consequences are high if they got caught. Meanwhile, the government should have rehabilitation programs for prisoners to build their skills.