A government has a responsibility to its citizens to ensure their safety. Therefore, some people think that the government should increase spending on defense but spend less on social benefits. To what extent do you agree?

One of the government's duties is to protect its own countries in terms of safety. Some individuals think that increasing budget for defenders while reducing social benefits should be implemented. In my perspective, I strongly disagree with this statement and this essay will explain the reasons. To begin with, every government, especially in developing countries, should focus more on building mandatory infrastructure for their own citizens than using the budget to spend on military equipment which might be used. Firstly, there is a huge problem in the medical system as it normally covers only the capital city or big city. People who live in rural areas do not have access to public health. Thus, the government should allocate more budget to improve the healthcare system such as building more hospitals or public clinics in rural areas, buying more medical equipment and subsidizing pills for poor citizens. Moreover, spending government funds on education is a must. Every child should have the right to access good quality education. An unfair education system is always a problem in developing countries. For example, some schools in rural countries do not have computer and internet access. Thus, the students in that schools cannot compete with other students from schools located in the big cities. As the result, many students decide to quit school as they do not see the importance of education. Because of this education spending should be increased. To summarise, with all reasons taken into account, social benefit such as education and the healthcare system is a more urgent issue for the government to solve than the defence. I am strongly convinced that government should increase the social benefits budget more than the defence budget.