The only way to solve the increasing crime rate of young offenders is to teach parents better parenting skills. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that only by teaching parents parenting skills can the issue of increasing juvenile crimes be solved. Although parents do play an important role in coping with discipline problems of teenagers, I believe that there are other measures that can be taken to address this problem. I agree that it is vital to teach parents parenting skills in order to prevent youngsters from committing a crime. Firstly, parents should provide a warm and positive atmosphere for their children to grow up in, and this is crucial and conducive to decreasing the increasing crime rate of young offenders. For example, a much lower tendency of crime rate can be seen in teenagers who live in happy families. Secondly, better parenting skills can help to improve the communication between children and parents and therefore avoid many understandings. However, other factors should also be taken into consideration to solve this social problem. Teachers should care about the behaviour of students and teach them the right values. School is where youngsters spend most of their time and where they develop social skills, therefore tutors must pay attention to students' discipline problems. Besides, TV censorship should be implemented by governments to prevent youngsters from the exposure to violent programs. For instance, some juveniles would follow the violent behaviours shown in TV programs for fun and they do not realize that they are actually committing a crime. In conclusion, I believe that parents should be taught parenting skills in order to tackle the problem of the increasing number of young lawbreakers, while teachers and governments should also play their part in addressing this issue.