Plastic waste is now increasing at a dangerous rate around the world. Why is this happening? What can government and businesses do to reduce the amount they contribure?

The amount of plastic waste is growing at an alarming rate across the globe today. In my opinion, this is primarily due to a growing demand for plastic -based materials and poor waste management. I believe effective solutions for this problem include legislation and the development of eco-friendly alternatives to plastics. One major contributing factor to this increase is an escalating demand for plastic packaging and single-use disposable products. Most service and food industries favour plastics for their light weight, durability and versatility. I Production of plastic knowledge are also less energy-intensive than other materials like cardboard, paper and glass, thus leading to overall cost reductions. Another reason is insufficient or virtually non-existent waste management infrastructure, including recycling facilities, especially in developing countries. The majority of plastic waste generated in developed nations is sent to destinations that mismanage plastic trash, thereby increasing improper disposal or even illegal dumping at landfills. Regarding the countermeasures, one optimal solution is for governments to introduce regulations on plastic waste management. Specifically, a ban should be imposed on the use of disposable plastic items including bags, cutlery, and food and beverage containers, while fines should also be applied to residents and companies that fail to sort their waste into recyclables, compostables and landfill trash. Another approach is to increase the use of bioplastics in food packages or bottles. Unlike petroleum-based raw materials, biodegradable materials are derived from plants or natural materials, which are fully recyclable, compostable, and decomposable on land or in the ocean. In conclusion, surging amounts of plastic waste have occurred due to growing demand and a lack of waste management infrastructure; however, this situation can be remedied through the introduction of waste management regulations and development of sustainably sourced materials for packaging.