Being a celebrity – such as a movie star or professional athlete – brings problems as well as benefits. Do you think that being a celebrity has more benefits or drawbacks?

In the recent world, supported by mass communications and the internet, focus on famous individuals has been increasing. As a result, the number of young people who want to be well known actors or sport players is growing. However, there are both advantages and disadvantages being a celebrity. On this account, I believe there are more merits than demerits becoming a well known person. Accordingly, I would like to list some specific examples of both benefits and drawbacks and demonstrate that the former outweighs the latter. The most typical disadvantage of being famous is that the person need to give up his or her privacy. For example, their private whereabout and relationships with someone are all reavealed by reporters and magazines. Their time schedules become inflexible, allowing them little or no free times. Their family members are also watched by fans and TV reporters. These conditions can be sometimes quite challenging and even dangerous both mentally and physically. On the contrary, being famous has many advantages as well. The first and foremost, they can be financially very rich. Also, they can have numerous priviledges such as an access to networks only those celebrated people can participate or a free pass to top restaurants and events which ordinary people cannot go. On top of that, they can obtain profound self satisfaction that in the recognition that they are important in the world and different from many other citizens. As such, they try to educate their children to become movie stars or sports players as they are so that their off springs can also enjoy these benefits. In conclusion, I believe being famous has more advantages than disadvantages. They can enjoy huge monetary and mental satisfactions although they often have to sacrifice their privacy and freedom.