The growth of online shopping will one day lead to all shops in towns and cities closing. Do you agree or disagree?

People voice concerns over a shift in the shopping habit that a growing number of customers tend to purchase online can cause shops to close. Personally, I would support that offline shopping will continue to flourish. Admittedly, online purchasing brings several benefits such as saving money on transport to shops, and returning and replacing goods through delivery services. By contrast, the traditional shopping style has its unique advantages and is not easily replaced. First of all, visiting a store can be an obvious way to fully try things out before making decisions. For example, girls tend to spend more time choosing clothes. As opposed to checking out items in a virtual cart, which can often occupy weeks before receiving them, they can try on clothes in the fitting room and pick out their favourites when visiting an offline store. It streamlines the decision-making process and cuts the logistic time in the meantime. Secondly, for electrical items including smart speakers, earbuds, and mobile phones, people would prefer to test them out in advance of payment. Therefore, there are on-site sales teams and technical staff who can offer users immediate support and advice that is not readily achieved with online customer services, since some questions require in-depth explanations or live demonstrations. Thirdly, physical shops now appear to become exhibition centres where companies can showcase their goods and services. To illustrate this, a recent report showed that more and more automakers are investing massively in live displays of their vehicles, which has proven to be an effective means of gaining public recognition and entrenching the company’s brand. In conclusion, it is a feat that technological advances have allowed a higher adoption of e-commerce, but I would favour that how people buy things will not be entirely overtaken by virtual tools.