Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sport to young children). To what extend do you agree or disagree?

A number of people advocate that volunteering activities should be a mandatory addition to high school programs. I strongly agree that this contributes not only to the development of the emotional and psychological resilience of young people but also to the expansion of their future career opportunities. First of all, one reason why charity is an essential part of a student’s life is that it promotes significant skills such as communication and relationships. Unpaid activities can help everybody to develop themselves. Working with society, a person can forget about his or her problems, become more confident in any actions and start assisting people because of the desire to help, not to make money. Volunteering has a powerful influence on high school pupils. For instance, having carried out research among Vietnamese students, the United Nations Population Fund has revealed that voluntary activities promote reducing social exclusion of adolescents and improving the psychological school climate. Another reason is that unpaid community service can affect future careers deeply since in adolescence the foundation of working with people is based. Volunteers can open new skills like endurance and industry. It is necessary for life, job and study. As a result, providing extensive training, volunteers' work allows practising, such as teamwork, problem-solving, communication and networking. To illustrate, active people who participate in gratis work are often invited abroad to practice or study. Also, they can continue to work there. In conclusion, free community service should be necessary for every high school. This influences future professional skills and teaches how to work not for salary, but because people need unpaid help. Volunteering is the best movement that teenagers need.